Bloo One goes down by end of October. Bloo Too future uncertain and GoogleTV.

Update: Bloo is officially off the market with todays announcement for Facebook for Android 1.4.0. Looks like Facebook is in good hands! 🙂 It’s been a trip.

Update: Kate from the comments provided some instructions to get the 6 digit code! Thank you Kate!

1. In your browser, enter in http://m.facebook.com (this will bring up the mobile site)log-in to your facebook account.
2. In the “Search” box at the BOTTOM of the page type in “Bloo for Android” and click on “Search”.
3. Click on the application “Bloo for Android” (NOT the group).
4. Then click on the button that says “Allow”. This will link your Facebook account with Bloo.
5. Now, from your phone go to your Bloo application and click on “Get Code” and it should take you to the code page!
6. Enjoy!

*Note* I used the m.facebook.com site directly from my PC, I didn’t try it on my phone… so if it doesn’t work on your phone, try it on your home computer.

I hope this helps out a lot of people!

Ok, things obviously haven’t been progressing as well as we thought out for Too and from the looks of it neither Bloo One is doing great either. There are a lot of complaints from people who cannot retrieve the 6-digit code anymore. Perhaps because Facebook has probably removed it as it is migrating to much better ways of authenticating the user. New and exciting ways the Bloo Too is using but not Bloo One.

I have reached a decision regarding both the apps. Bloo One will no longer be available on the market by the end of October. Simply because anyone who downloads it will not be able to receive the 6-digit code. As for Too, I am postponing it indefinitely and I am actually considering of releasing what I have, which is a bare bones app that only allows you to change status and share links. Hopefully one of you guys or a team can take over and make it big. One final consideration is to switch back to just create a Facebook Chat client only. The future is uncertain as you can tell and it will all depend on my time available for it. Trust me, I made this app, I love it and I want to continue it but I can’t keep you guys waiting without delivering. I’d rather push back for now and perhaps surprise you in the near future.

As a side note, the project I’ve been working on non-stop has finally been announced today. It’s the Logitech Revue with Google TV. It is very exciting and also responsible (in a good way) for the lack of time for Bloo. I opened up a new blog for it here.

Android has matured and has become an amazing OS to develop for. It looks like the Facebook app is also doing alright! Unfortunately, there are only 24 hours in a day and I am struggling to fit it in all together for you guys. I apologize in advance if you were looking forward for more support and better communication.

-dc

39 Responses to Bloo One goes down by end of October. Bloo Too future uncertain and GoogleTV.

  1. Mitch says:

    Thanks for the update! Hope someone can grab the code off you and give it a shot! 🙂

  2. The leaked Bloo 1.5 works =( Maybe you could go ahead and release that, and also consider open sourcing what’s coded of Bloo Too right now? I’m sure there are several people that would like to help you with the code for it…

  3. M says:

    Wasn’t Bloo supposed to be open source?

  4. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by @sweeterskins, JsinLegacy and punyweakling, basketbrains.com. basketbrains.com said: No more Bloo? Boo!!! http://bit.ly/bTHEUu Here's hoping some great devs out there can pick up Bloo Too and run with it!! 😦 […]

  5. Marcus says:

    I’d like to take a stab at the code. Not sure how much help id be as not done any facebook connect stuff but would love a chance 🙂

  6. Miguel says:

    While the official Facebook app is decent, it’s pretty unreliable for notifications. Facebook is not my life, but for others it could be frustrating.

    Bloo Too would be a nice option if open-sourced.

    BTW, not to get off-topic, and while I am interested in Google TV, I must say I am surprised Logitech is trying to push the Revue at $299, considering it has no internal storage lime a DVR. The Apple TV only costs $99, and has very similar components. $299 is Tivo territory…

  7. Fre says:

    PLEASE RELEASE WHAT YOU HAVE!! YOU CAN’T MAKE US WAIT THIS LONG AND GIVE US NOTHING. WHY DO YOU KEEP DOING THIS?

  8. Kate says:

    It took me forever to figure out how to get the code to work, after much researching I found a way!

    Follow these steps:

    1. In your browser, enter in http://m.facebook.com (this will bring up the mobile site)log-in to your facebook account.
    2. In the “Search” box at the BOTTOM of the page type in “Bloo for Android” and click on “Search”.
    3. Click on the application “Bloo for Android” (NOT the group).
    4. Then click on the button that says “Allow”. This will link your Facebook account with Bloo.
    5. Now, from your phone go to your Bloo application and click on “Get Code” and it should take you to the code page!
    6. Enjoy!

    *Note* I used the m.facebook.com site directly from my PC, I didn’t try it on my phone… so if it doesn’t work on your phone, try it on your home computer.

    I hope this helps out a lot of people!

  9. Christopher says:

    Just release what you have, I’d like to take a stab at it.

  10. justwaiting says:

    I thought this was going to be open sourced months ago? Is there a google code page for it yet? Anyone have the link?

  11. Charles says:

    Bloo who? Congrats on the accomplishments, but it has been months without any word or update. Many people have just moved on, making do with what is already available.

  12. Ron G. says:

    No worries Dimitris. Life happens! Best of luck to you!

  13. Synthia says:

    Ah that’s a shame, I went to “Like” the app on facebook and noticed that everyone was talking about not getting a code.

    It worked fine for me, and I got a code right away. I wonder if it was because I was also logged into the mobile facebook and not just the app itself? Not sure. Either way it sucks it’s going off the market, I love the app itself. Best of luck to you, and hope you get a chance to release a Bloo Too that would be awesome.

  14. Stefan says:

    What about downsizing to “just” a Fcaebook chat and push notification System?

    • justwaiting says:

      He could just release the source code like he’s been saying he’ll do for months and the the community can finish the project.

      • magokh says:

        agree…..chat and push notifications will complete the experience of official facebook app!

  15. Gardenwife says:

    Where can I get the leaked copy?

  16. Gardenwife says:

    Where can I get the leaked copy, please?

  17. jlatnyc says:

    It worked! I looked everywhere but couldn’t get anything knowing that it was a permission issue, finally tried Kate’s method and it worked…thanks. Don’t take it off the market. BTW my pictures and albums aren’t loading, anybody has any ideas?

  18. Jeff says:

    What a bummer, was waiting months for an open source release…oh well, best of luck to you!

  19. KaliKot says:

    Thanks for the help Kate!

    finally got it working. Its really neat compared to the official app but wheres the like button?

    im sad that its gonna be discontinued. The android facebook app really sucks compared to the iphone version

  20. Woody says:

    thanks this helps a lot !!

  21. soundman1024 says:

    Can you start up a mailing list for future Bloo updates? I’d love to get an update about updated chat or Bloo Too if it is going to happen.

  22. Mike says:

    This app is great, sorry to see it go. I used the method above to get my 6 digit code and it worked like a charm. also set some of the permissions on the app and everything works fine (except album pictures) but i just use it for notifications since the android FB doesnt notify me. i wouldn’t give up on this app if i were you.

  23. Peeweew says:

    please work on the photo album problem, albums dont show

    thankyou, ill be hoping for improvement

  24. Eric says:

    My recommendation is create a Facebook Chat app. Go!Chat Facebook is the only stand alone option that is worth anything (and is a great app). I would like to see some competition.

    Other options for such is eBuddy and a few other all-in-one chat apps. They all don’t seem to do it quite well enough.

    I know you will want to make money off of it, and putting in ads is a great idea, but keeping it free with features is the best route to go I would wager.

  25. Jono says:

    Bummer dc. I was looking forward to this. Also, I got the code working fine, but now I’m getting a bunch of like redirects saying something along the lines of “private user, redirecting to users page” and it will bring me to the other person who commented’s profile… Kind of annoying

  26. penpen72 says:

    Bloo works with all 2.2 phones. When people try the official Facebook app, they are disappointed and usually go back to their blackberry or worse yet, iPhone. Android needs a working Facebook app to keep up with other OS’s. I would love to see you get back in the game! Bloo was the first app I ever purchased, I would buy it again, if you got back after it!! 🙂

  27. justwaiting says:

    It takes all but 5 minutes to make a google code page and throw your project online like you said you were going to do. Then, once and for all your work will be out there, and if people want the app to do something or if they find a problem they can fix it/implement it themselves. I just don’t understand why you would say you’re going to open source bloo. Then…not open source it…

  28. boda says:

    i didnt uninstall Bloo one ( even the app wont load, and lots others things dont work as well ) is because its one and only, plus very awesome notifications alert feature!!! cant believe that the official fb app dont have features like that, even after the update…if this bloo too app will load properly on my htc desire, allow me to comment, like etc, and the notifications alert, then it really would be a life saver still, ty dc

  29. Tristan says:

    To the developer of bloo: Please please please dont give up on the bloo project, I recently upgraded my phone and went to go download bloo and it wasn’t there. After days of fumbling with the stupid official Facebook app I went on a mission to find a download spot for bloo and I did. The 6 digit code is still working. And all I can say is thst I’m overjoyed to have bloo back on my phone and not the

  30. Ca_PuNk says:

    Please, put the code on the web.. so anyone can modify it!

Leave a comment