Problems seeing feeds? Read here.

Hey all,

I’ve been coding all weekend for Facebook chat. I have two people currently testing its functionality. It is almost complete. I am just putting an all around polish to the whole experience and trying to fix as many bugs as possible.

So, it seems Facebook has yet again, changed some policy regarding viewing feeds. They now allow you to see the main feed but not your own UNLESS you explicitly allow Bloo to view streams. Unfortunately, their server response does not trigger Bloo to understand that you are missing this permission. Instead, Facebook returns an empty feed and this is why you get this error message.

I am working on a fix for version 1.5. But in the meantime, if you visit and read this blog, click here to enable your extra permission. This will allow you to view all feeds back normally!

I am hoping you will love chat🙂. I also have plans of redoing the whole login process to streamline it and avoid the 6 digit code.

Thanks for your patience!

-dc

59 Responses to Problems seeing feeds? Read here.

  1. Bob Garon says:

    Hey are we gonna be able to have chat turned off if we don’t wanna use it or have it on?

  2. RAMON says:

    is it going to upgrade automatically? .. i want to start chatting on FB!!!!!! … great job DC!!!

  3. Bubba says:

    How do i get it to notify me about picture comments? BTW great app.

  4. Jason says:

    Great stuff….I’m sure it will be worth the wait🙂

  5. Jake says:

    Thank you for taking the time to fix this!

  6. jonitan17 says:

    Hai DC , May i ask you, is notification not working for comment ? Because notification in my bloo only for message inbox.

  7. Bjehsus says:

    Have you thought about implementing a sync provider?

  8. Taylor says:

    are there going to be any other new developments, besides chat, in the new version?

  9. Chris says:

    AWESOME! Can’t wait!

  10. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by droidville and facebook ville, androidville. androidville said: Problems seeing feeds? Read here. Version 1.5 slightly delayed for mid-week. | http://vil.ag/1GeKmq […]

  11. Miguel says:

    I am having problems viewing photos. I think I should be able to view a gallery right from the Feed, but it doesn’t seem that it’s possible anymore.

    But regardless, even if I navigate to the Friend’s profile, click Menu>Photos and click on the gallery, I simply get thumbnail views of the photos. When I click on any of the photos to view the full image, I get the loading circle in the middle of the screen and the photo never appears.

    The same thing happens if I try to view one of the 3 photos that displays in the Feed when a Friend posts photos.

    I’ve stuck with Bloo primarily because of the enhanced photo features, that steer me clear of m.facebook.com like the official app does. However, now these features aren’t working.

    I am using the Nexus One.

    • anthony says:

      is not bloo. its your phone connection with the internet. try to connect to 3G or WIFI and trust me it will load really fast. it happens to me once in a while.

    • Arttu says:

      I have same issue. Most images don’t load in feed and loading the image view is really slow / fails often. This is regardless of connection type (3G, hspa, wifi). HTC Desire.

  12. Miguel says:

    Let me add that it works sometimes. For instance, If I clock 10 photos, then 2 may load.

  13. Kyle says:

    I’m not able to see any posts in the news feed that are made from the iPhone, is this going to be fixed?

    • Callan Browne says:

      Hi Kyle,

      I fixed this with the link provided in the post above.

      See the text that refers to: “enable your extra permission”

  14. Asheesh says:

    I love your app. Works great on my Motorola Milestone.

  15. Hey Dimitris I may just be completely blind or something a long the lines here and if I am ignore this request, but is there possibly anyway that in 1.5 you could add a back to home screen button when you press the menu button? I find myself searching through several feeds only to find I need to press back hundreds of times just to get back to the home screen so that I can look through the feed etc.

  16. Kevin says:

    I’ve got to hand it to you, Bloo is infinitely better than the vanilla Facebook application. I especially love the fact that the notifications actually work for this, and are instant.

    I’m anxiously awaiting to see how the Chat works out. Hopefully better than what’s on the website.

  17. Bill says:

    Five will get you ten that this update doesn’t see the light of day for at least two more weeks.

  18. Ryan says:

    I cannot wait to have facebook chat on my moto droid! Any status update or new ETA dc?

  19. kaediil says:

    I seem to be having lots of FC on my Hero running 2.1. I would love to help you develop/debug this. Mostly the FC come from the main feed, after I upped the number from 5 to 10 it started failing all over.

    Otherwise I love the app. Very nicely done.

  20. Bogdan B says:

    Fantastic app. Easily the best FB app for Android at the moment. Keep up the good work. You are making a lot of people happy by adding chat. I am really looking forward to the update! Best of luck and thank you for this great piece of software.

    Bog

  21. Kyle says:

    So…. Another week gone by and nothing….

  22. Ben Cochran says:

    Any chance of getting higher-rez icons?🙂

  23. Courtney says:

    New to this but I can’t view friends pages, comment, or anything. Am I doing something wrong?

  24. Niko says:

    To his defense I’m pretty sure fb has been changing a lot of things lately

  25. JM says:

    As long as it comes that’s all that matters!

  26. Miguel says:

    I’ve uninstalled this app. This is like the 3rd time I’ve uninstalled it. Quite simply it’s to buggy. Facebook is ever-changing and needs an app that is frequently updated to keep up with the change to work right. Right now, the official app is the only app that is being updated consistently.

    • Ca_PuNk says:

      Don’t say something like this.. facebook official app is garbage.
      One update every 3-4 months.. and still redirect to m.facebook.com..

  27. Arthur says:

    @Miguel I, also, have uninstalled and reinstalled Bloo a million times. I doubt the official Facebook app will ever be on par with non-android apps due to the bad blood between FB and Google. Bloo can do what it does really well, it just doesn’t do everything right now. I will continue to watch it develop and cross my fingers as hard as I can.

    Honestly, I would be 100% happy with Bloo if it could just give me the same ‘notifications’ pulldown as the main Facebook PC site has with working links. (Links to comments and stuff within the app, none of that redirecting to site bullshit.)

  28. Ferrie says:

    Nice App, notifications are great, and i really like the simple menu layout. Works great on the HTC Desire (after a few “feed” issues) and i’m really looking forward to the chat function! I only got some minor issues.

    1: I only don’t like the ugly green when i go into my photo’s, if i go to other peoples photo’s it’s just white around their pictures, much nicer!

    2: When i want to see my notifications again, wouldn’t it be easier to have a button for that? Now i have to menu->notifications. I still have room for an extra button🙂

    3: Does android and/or facebook have “real” push notification options? Cause i thought android was capable of push, and i know facebook for iPhone has them. So why must i set a check interval timer and how battery consuming is that?

    p.s. Just questions, if this would be the final product, than i still would use it because it’s frakking great!

  29. don says:

    I’m sure you already know this but I’m having probs loading some pics I did the feed fix and idk if pics are considdered a feed but yeah fyi also I’m looking to get into apps and programing and the sort and testing contact me if interested

  30. tsc says:

    Are there any updates on 1.5?

  31. luis says:

    When is chat coming its been almost a month?

  32. Al Munger says:

    i authorized the permission with facebook. checked it twice. feed loads when it wants to. Great app if it worked.

  33. Jose says:

    Any chance we gonna see 1.5 this year? It has been a month now and no updates or word on the progress of the app.

  34. ryan says:

    Seriously…you have a pretty good following but are going to start losing people if you dontt at least give us an update to let us know what is going on.

  35. Lorin Bute says:

    Isn’t this nice? The developer makes a promise, builds up expectation and then all of us feel left out and disappointed.
    I gave up on this app. It had issues anyway. And the ever changing nature of facebook is a pain for a developer.

  36. Patrick says:

    I love the app…. is there anyway to get news feed notifications ??

  37. phil says:

    Im sure he has more to his life than fb for android🙂 its only been a month, and its free!

  38. joaquin says:

    so much for mid-week, it’s been almost a week
    a pitty i was waitng for the chat since now i have to use ebuddy

  39. Android says:

    Now where is the latest bloo version; ok middle week next year at same time😉

  40. the policy is always changing wonder whats gonna be modified next

  41. Sharon says:

    How do you reply to feeds?

  42. PHIL says:

    HOW CAN I MAKE FONTS BIGGER ?? I CAN HARDLY SEE THE WRIGHTING….

Leave a Reply

