Bloo 1.3.1 free edition what really happened.

Well,

The promotion edition was pulled off today. You might be wondering why. The reason is that the version that was uploaded was not the same as the 1.3.1 paid version. It had major bug in memory leaking and this is why it was as slow as most of you have seen. In short the promotion edition was a disaster and thank god it was free. It also had to be uploaded as a separated version from the current paid release in the market. Google does not allow you to switch from PAID to FREE and BACK.

This was all my fault and I apologize for the way this promotion was handled. The relatively good news is that it was downloaded 2000 times in only a day and a half.

I am working very hard on 1.3.2 and it is taking time. I want you to know that I respect everyones comments good or bad. Sometimes being one guy I am choking with the work I have to put, along with real life issues.

I have been thinking a few alternatives for the future of Bloo, some that I think you will like a lot. In the mean time for those who care about Bloo you can vote it for Best Social Network App in http://androidnetworkawards.com/!

Trying to redeem myself with you dear customer I now offer Bloo for 99 cents instead!

-dc

26 Responses to Bloo 1.3.1 free edition what really happened.

  1. Alex says:

    Sorry to hear about the promotion disaster. Personally, I am very happy with bloo and am glad to have paid $1.49 for it. I recommend you spend less time on promotions and more time on development and bug fixing. A lot of the best apps on my computer are free and unadvertised, but I use them because they’re the best at what they do. Word of mouth is the best advertising, my friend.

  2. Guillaume says:

    Free = no complaining🙂

  3. Second vote for implementing the new API – Mailbox tab, Notification integration with Android Notification drawer.

    Also, please implement an easily switchable Facebook Lite feed. As Facebook Lite is already well reviewed online, its easy for developers to replicate it by filtering what news items appear in their apps and show only those that are on the Facebook Lite screen. Make Facebook Lite experience choosable through Settings.

  4. I also forgot to mention, I did vote for Bloo on the ANA’09 award vote. Your application is totally worth it and as long as it is actively developed and expanded, I would be willing to keep up my dedicated support for it.

  5. Kristina says:

    I love Bloo && I think you should keep it at a $1.49 b/c its totally worth paying for!!! I had to pay for it, everyone else who has it now had to pay for it, why cant future customers have to pay for it?! You put alot of work into it, && look how much other apps are out there in the market!! Bloo is def worth the moeny!! Keep updating and making Bloo better!! At least Bloo works unlike some of these apps on the market!!! Plus it keeps getting better with each update!!

  6. James says:

    I voted. Your app is the one I use most on my phone, so I guess it has to be the best!

  7. Jordan says:

    I voted for sure!

    Chin up, Dimitris. The future will go better, and you’ll be far more popular then. This silly notion of using Babbler or FBook or the ‘official’ Facebook app will fade away and they’ll all turn to Bloo!😛

  8. Damien says:

    If you are willing to accept help improving Bloo then I’m definitely willing to give some. I spend quite a large amount of my time using/writing open software so I’m not interesting in money, just improving the app!

  9. Ron Gabbart says:

    No stress Dimitris. Your heart was in the right place. Keep plugging along and continue to improve Bloo and people will stick with you as you do it.

  10. Jose says:

    Bloo has my vote for sure🙂

  11. todd says:

    Keep in mind folks the new inbox API is READ ONLY, no reply or send. Silly? Yes! But just don’t jump on the developers… I just know they will get hammered because people will think it’s on their end… It’s all facebooks silliness. This is guaranteed to be more trouble for developers then its worth.

  12. Hk says:

    This is by far the best app made for the Android. I personally dislike Babbler a lot. It might seem to have more features than Bloo but Bloo has much greater potential since its truly native.

  13. Robert McCallum says:

    I as well enjoy bloo and hope you stay on path with the updates. You do good work.

    But what i really miss and maybe im just blind … is the ability to look at events and choose to SYNC with my calendar. That was an awesome feature that alone made your app worth it. I always forget about these damn events.

    Please bring it back.

    Thanks,

    Robbo!

    • Dimitris says:

      Robbo this should be in Bloo 1.3.1. Go to your Events, select an Event to view the details. Press MENU, you should get two options for directions (if your GPS is enabled) and calendar Sync.

      Let me know.

      • Robbo says:

        Weird i have 1.3.1 and i can view the list of the events but i cannot select any of them. As such they dont open up to get the option to sync. I have tried this in the Events area and events in my notifications and feeds. Cant open.

      • Ian says:

        Yeah, we can no longer select events, only view the list. Guessing it has something to do with a change to facebook’s API?

  14. Slick Vic says:

    Rome wasn’t built in a day. Keep up with the updates.😉

    Do I hear a widget in future updates?

  15. Jonathan says:

    I just noticed a strange bug in 1.3.1, wasn’t sure if I should put it here in the latest post or the actual release post.. whatever. I posted a comment on a friends wall through Bloo, but it shows up as ‘Jonathan posted a link’ in the Feed, but shows no link. On Facebook it shows up right ‘Jonathan > Shannon, blah blah blah’. Just thought you’d like to know.

    • Shrike says:

      I noticed the same exact thing in a post I made to a friends wall. Also in my feed I often see “posted a link to” from friends but there is nothing to select (like a picture or actual link). So if this is actually a bug then its confirmed!

  16. mcab says:

    How about being able to upload more than 1 pic at a time? I wanted to upload a bunch of pics i took tonight but when i tried to do it with Bloo it had to be one at a time. Will we be able to upload more in the future/soon? THANKS!!!

  17. beach says:

    are we able to add friends in bloo?

  18. Slick Vic says:

    Just a heads-up that facebook got new notification API, so Bloo is no longer pushing background notifications nor giving us notifications period.😦

Leave a Reply

