Version 1 Official Feature List

Here we go with the latest update on the app!

I have created a final feature list of Version 1 of the app. The list not only is informartive to you but also good for me so I know when to stop adding features. So without further delay here’s the list.

  • Stream
    • View Status updates, wall-to-wall posts, photo posts and YouTube posts
    • Post to the Stream new status updates, links and new photos
    • Post comments, remove your own comments or remove your own posts
    •  Like or Unlike posts
  • Profiles  / Friends
    • View your own or your friends profile wall
    • View your own or your friends profile basic info (Fields are yet to be determined)
    • Post to your own or your friends wall
    • Auto complete search box to quickly locate a friend
    • Merge a friend with your phones contact. You will be asked to choose an existing or new contact to match and decide which fields to sync
  • Photos
    • View your own or a friends albums ( w/ paging)
    • View your own or a friends photos inside albums (w/ paging)
    • View your own or a friends photo tags, jump into their profiles by clicking on the tags
    • Save your own or a friends photo to your SDCard
    • Tag your own photos only. Facebook policy does not allow to tag ANY photo, so only yours.
    • Upload a photo from your Gallery straight to an album
  • Events
    • View your own events
    • Get directions to events
    • RSVP to events 
    • Synchronize your calendar with an event — This is the only feature I am still thinking about as it makes the app REQUIRE you to have the CALENDAR app installed. Right now it is included, as I have found out that the Calendar app cannot be deleted from G1 phones, please comment if this is not true for all G1 phones.
  • Notifications
    • Notifications for pending event invitations
    • Notifications for todays birthdays
    • Notifications for latest comments to your posts

…and there you have it! I know some of you want more but once Version 1 goes live a brand new set of features will be added to enhance your experience!

I have recently received my dev phone and I have  been using the app on the road and it works great. It’s cool to check facebook on the road and I am very satisfied with the speed of the app. 

I am still working very hard on this so I can have it released. I do not want to release anything until I am satisfied with it but I promise you I am putting a lot of effort and time into this.

Last but not least, we have reached 500+ members to the group! Your support means a lot to me and I wanted to thank you again for this! Here is a snapshot of how currently Events look like in your phone. Please note, this is work in progress!

–dc

52 Responses to Version 1 Official Feature List

  1. jstubbles says:

    Nice, looking forward to it!

  2. Maff says:

    can’t wait!

  3. lemon says:

    keep up the good work, its all appreciated!
    cant wait to get this!

  4. Alfredo says:

    Your application looks very good, I will download it as soon as i get my new phone this summer.

    Thanks for your work!

  5. Tom Sittler says:

    *chants* Be-ta, be-ta, be-ta!

    Tom want!

  6. Arno says:

    Looks great… can’t wait for it !

  7. Stephan says:

    /me drules

  8. Twanzionio says:

    Can’t wait to see this on the marketplace. Screenshots look fantastic.

  9. scoopman says:

    can’t wait to try this thing…. hope that’s soon!

  10. Seb says:

    Wow, this even outperforms by far the official iPhone facebook app.

    Great work. I can’t wait…

  11. Aaron says:

    Good work man, can’t wait for this!

  12. Rob says:

    Can’t wait to see how much you charge for this

  13. Paul says:

    Looking good

    no obvious omissions

    perhaps draw a line under the current feature list and then make all new features for version 2

    cant wait

  14. Paul says:

    Thank you for taking the time to do this, I can’t wait to see this for real

  15. matt says:

    oooooooooooooooooooooooooo😀

  16. janinthebox says:

    Really appreciate your work!!

  17. Cameron Judd says:

    Looking good dude. I think any phone with the ‘with google’ must have the calendar app. So both the G1 and the Magic (myTouch for you US peeps). Please make sure it works with the phones without the keyboard.

  18. med says:

    Wow. Me likey very much….ey.

  19. Sam Leung says:

    Awesome,
    I was just thinking… if you were to set up a PayPal Sponsor payment thingy I think you would find a fair few of us would reward your efforts when you finally release Version 1.

    Too do all of this on your own, when Apple and Blackberry have surely had teams develop their crap apps, it’s only fair you get something for your effort.

    Big ups,
    Sam

  20. Symatia says:

    this looks perfect to me! can’t wait to see it on my phone. thanks so much for your time and effort developing this app..

  21. Rob says:

    dude, you rule! is there any way we can donate money to you?

  22. Brian says:

    Seriously, we need a beta version!!!

  23. Lee says:

    hey DC,

    Finally someone has stepped up to create a FB app for android. The work is looking awesome and I cant wait to get my hands on it! Great job. Hope its not to far off😉 if you need any graphics work, I will happily help out!

    Lee

  24. Maff says:

    Dimitris, what size is the app in its current state?

    cheers

  25. GW says:

    You’ve included such great little touches, like being able to add friends’ phone numbers to our contacts. Thanks for all the work you’re putting into this! I agree, you should have a tip jar.

  26. Greg says:

    This is absolutely amazing and as you can see we are all 100% behind you. Keep up the good work and add me to the list of beta testers if you need any🙂

  27. Ricky says:

    Thank you so much for taking the time and making this application! I really can’t wait for it to be released. I’m definitely going to download it and start using it straight away!

  28. Sandy says:

    Looks fantastic! I am so excited and looking forward to this. Thank you, thank you, thank you!🙂

  29. Sandy says:

    And you’re Greek to top it all off, bravo agori mou, bravo!🙂

  30. Steve W says:

    Sweeeeeeet! That’s a lot of development work and the screenshots look very nice. I look forward to trying it out!

  31. Maff says:

    I’ve just discovered Foobook doesn’t work on my phone because I use a2sd (apps are installed on the SD card rather than the limited phone). Will this app work/install with A2SD do you know?

  32. Johnathan says:

    It’s great to see that there will finally be a good facebook app for Android! If you need beta testers for pre-launch, I’m definitely interested! I’m on facebook constantly, and the mobile site just isn’t cutting it for me.

  33. caleb lin says:

    First of all good job , your efforts are much appreciated.

    One COOL FACTOR you might think of adding that would take advantage of the aaccelerometer is to shake the phone for a refresh. Saves on the “menu : refresh”.

  34. beach says:

    I’m in for beta testing too! can’t wait omg! keep it up, you are doing great man…

  35. chili says:

    Looks Great!

    I got a Dev phone and would be more than happy to help you out with either beta testing or even some coding if you want.

    Keep up the good work!

  36. bobby says:

    cant wait. If you’ll be offering a beta, sign me up.

  37. Bastian says:

    Great! Can’t wait! When does it come into market?
    If you need help for translation, I can help for the german one.

  38. mbiza says:

    Graeat work!
    I can help for the italian one.
    But we all want a beta, we will help you with debugging!

  39. TittieBaby says:

    Great job, love how it looks so far

  40. milli says:

    Wow, it’s really really amazing your project

    If you need hel por translation I can help for Spanish and Catalan🙂

  41. mhamed says:

    That’s nice, Stop adding feature coz it will never be enough for you, there is always something to add.

    So of your app is stable enough publish it and keep working on bugfix feedback and more feature with new updates.

    Good luck

  42. Hooty says:

    Can’t wait. Do we have an expected release date.

    • Maff says:

      If you read the comments and the other stories on the blog (there’s only 3 in total) you’d see he hopes to release it end of June/early May

  43. kabir says:

    looks great. when will it be published?

  44. Jay says:

    I really can’t wait for this app – it looks awesome.

    How about updating the list to show wish features are under development/in testing/complete. Make the anticipation even more palliable

  45. GODMODE says:

    Wow, this looks liks it is going to be really complete application.

    Got a paypal donation account? 😉

    Thanks Dimitris!

  46. Jules says:

    I think being able to view comments for pictures is important and i would really like to see that. A lot of discussions on facebook arrive just from comments on a photo. So not being able to view and add your own seems a bit rough.

  47. […] This post was Twitted by thelazzyone […]

  48. […] Plus d’informations sur le site officiel […]

Leave a Reply

